When will the season start again

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When will the season start again

Hi lads its went really quiet out there now I'm just wondering when the fishing usually picks up again this is my first year out there I'm fishing off Amble.

All the best
    Chris

Anytime from mid March until early May, all depends on the winter we have but i always aim for the second week in April as my start date.
    ................__................................ .............................
    ____[ ~ \_____
    [__On-A-Roll__/
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    P.B
    SKATE 204lb
    COD 51lb
    LING 32lb
    TOPE 40lb
    CONGER 25lb
    HADDOCK 10lb
    HALIBUT 37lb
    COALIE 16lb
    BLUE SHARK 55lb

Comment

The season hasn't really finished yet but it's sure tailing off. The reason it's gone quiet is because of a number of factors i.e. the very big tides, very dirty water and strong winds. When the water clears and the wind drops we'll pick up a few more fish before the month's out. Many of the boat lads fish throughout the winter months but they usually drop anchor and "uptide".
      There's some decent fish about in February but the spring run kick starts the season proper and whilst it was late this year it can start any time from early March through to late April. There will be a quiet two week period during the spring run when the Cod begin spawning but when they recover it's fill ya boots time. In late May / early June many of the Cod will move from the rough inshore ground to the various wrecks, reefs and holding features and that's when it gets really interesting. The rough inshore ground will always hold fish but for the bigger Cod, Ling and Pollock you really need to be out amongst the wrecks.

Comment