offshore fishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• offshore fishing

When is the best time to catch cod off a fixed platform as regards tides etc. Any help would be much appreciated as I am a novice

Hi mate and welcome to the board..are you referring to shore fishing or boat fishing.If its shore fishing then you may be better off reposting in the shore section and someone will help you out.
    Try and be a bit more specific as well ie what type of fishing (beach,rocks,piers, harbours etc), your location,etc etc.Hope this helps you.
    Cheers Alan...

Comment

Thanks for the reply.Cant say too much as it aint allowed, Fishing from Gas Rig in North Sea, Had a good load of Cod in Summer up to about 15Lb but seems to have died off lately. We were wondering if we are fishing wrong tides or times. A bit of thread tape on a 6/0 hook usually does the trick. Fairly happy with Shore fishing as that is my usual forte.

Comment

Just out of curiosity mind, if somebody did catch a 15lber off a rig, how high would they have to haul it up ? Not that anybody would do such a thing.
        If all about you are catching fish, cast in their swim !!!

Comment

Don\'t suppose they\'d be mad keen on letting you barbecue em on board either!

Sounds like a good laugh tho
          ʎɐqǝ uo pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ɐ ʎnq ı ǝɯıʇ ʇsɐן ǝɥʇ sı sıɥʇ.

Thought for the day:
          Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but bring a smile to your face when thrown down the stairs

Converting an MFV Fifie trawler type thing.

Comment

I\'d recommend no more than 15 seconds each side when they\'re flareing, Mark.
            If all about you are catching fish, cast in their swim !!!

Comment

you\'d need bloody long tongs to turn em over

Thought for the day:
              Some people are like slinkies - not really good for anything but bring a smile to your face when thrown down the stairs

Comment