Is It Such A Wise Move ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is It Such A Wise Move ?

When we hear of Cod being caught and found to be full of roe.Wouldn't it be a wise move to help preserve the life of the fish and the future fish stocks which the roe could yield and releasing any back to spawn.
    It also seem's that when the chance's of cod full of roe increase the more anglers targeted them.Is it for the roe or for the photograph of that plumper fish for the album.
    If it is known that at a certain time of the year the cod are spawning why isn't there a closed season to try and prevent catches and hopefully increase stocks.
    obviously I'm not one of the men in white coats I've no knowledge or experience like most, a non expert this is just my own personal feelings.
    Maybe by posting this I may be educated. Educations a marvelous thing lets hope I and others learn from this, from those who know, are at the very least by those who think they know.
    Last edited by big sid; 15-02-2010, 12:24 AM.
    Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught

If you do google search on cod and spawning it throws up a few big questions and a lot of information. the following information is taken from a google search titled:
    Northern Cod -A Matter of Survival.
    "The cod is normally a deep water fish but comes into shallower waters to spawn. This usually happens between January and March. Some of the important spawning grounds for cod are found around the Lofoten Islands off the coast of Norway; along the coasts of Greenland and Iceland; and, of course, on Labrador's famous Hamilton Bank and the Grand Bank of Newfoundland. (Banks are shallow, more or less flat ocean areas near the coastline.)"

I think there is a lot of sense in having a close season for certain fish, at least from a commercial point of view. Of course anglers would have to exercise common sense and return them if carefully if caught between January and March.