Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info please

Alright chaps??
    I\'m getting a bit sick of sea fishing so I\'m thinking about taking up fly fishing
    Any suggestions on rods and reels for a complete beginner? I have only tried the fly once which was at Fontburn last summer, and that resulted in my mates gear getting stuck in a tree!! :P
    I don\'t want to spend big bucks just yet so what sort of names should I look out for?

Cheers
    Mark

greys grx kit
    £150
    you get a rod and reel with 3 spools with 3 lines on them

sless

Comment

Whatever you buy, even if it\'s a top rated outfit, is unlikely to be what suits you later when you\'ve got a bit of experience, so keep the price down.
      There\'s plenty of gear around at a reasonable price, and you\'d probably be best to buy a complete outfit as a starter. They\'re cheaper than buying everything separately, unless you can get a local dealer to give you special terms.
      For stillwater fishing a 9\' or 9\'6 rod casting a 6 or 7 weight line would be a good starting point, with a floating line as first choice, and an intermediate as well if possible.
      That\'s for bank fishing. You\'d probably need a selection of sinking lines if you intend to concentrate on boat fishing, but even so you\'d be better off starting with the floater and learning to cast a bit before moving onto boat fishing. The outfit you started with will still be useful from a boat anyway,
      Most outfits come with everything including fly lines and leader material included, but if not, get the cheapest fly lines you can find to start with. You\'re almost guaranteed to wreck them in your first season, and its poinless spending a fortune on them.