Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which braid ?

Hey all,
    I'm wanting to change from normal line to braid on my spinning set up. I've never used braid before so I'm unsure what to buy. Also I hear you have to use a fluorocarbon leader too. Just wondering if anyone can suggest a brand, what strain to use for fluoro and braid???
    I'm going to be targeting pollock/mackerel and the like. I'm using 9ft spin rod and fixed spool.
    Thanks for any advice.

If I were you I'd get some of the Chinese braid off eBay, takes a couple weeks to come but is well worth it for the price

Comment

Also depends what weight lures etc you're planning on using as to which breaking strain to get

Comment

Hi mate, this is going to generate a few responses I would imagine. There is a lot of choice around at the moment and new products coming out all the time. Braid can be very cheap and also very expensive dependant on your preferences, but like most things in consumer life you get what you pay for and quality comes at a cost. I've tried a number of different manufacturers and was using Daiwa's range of Tournament 8 strand braids for quite a while and they were very good. However, last year I switched to YGK G-Soul WX8 (20lb #1.2PE) for Bass / Pollack / HRF set-up and there was a noticeable difference for me in the feel of the line. For LRF fishing I use Sunline Small Game 0.3 PE around the 4-6lb mark. For a leader I use Sunline fluorocarbons or Yuki invisible Fluorocarbon. The leader used for Lure fishing is not a traditional shock leader like in general shore-fishing or bait-casting, but used for two reasons. One, to protect your braided mainline from abrasion and damage and secondly and probably more importantly to 'visually disconnect' your lure from the mainline as Fluorocarbons are apparently close to invisible underwater so as not to be noticed by your intended prey.