Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• distance ?

i have a abu mag elite 6500 i use it with a 12ft beachcaster

what sort of casting distances should i be looking for ?

what sort of distances does everyone get and with what gear ?

be honest chaps answers in feet and inches
    cheers Bri

anglingnortheast.com

Kompressor Sport and 535.....with 30lb line and 5 oz weight

Always just used the \"overhead thump\" technique until last year, when I started practicing OTG on a local playing field.

Standing next to the goal posts at one end of the pitch, I was just about reaching the goals at the far end using the o/h thump (100yds).

After practicing the OTG for a while, I was consistently getting about 10 - 15 yds beyoned the far goalposts.

I suppose if I used lighter line I could get a bit further.....but is there REALLY any need.

That\'s OK on a field, but it\'s a different ball game when it comes to casting out a big bait.....doesn\'t \'arf reduce your distance.

Still tend to stick to the o/h thump when fishing, as there often just ain\'t the room for OTG (or the need).

[Edited on 19/8/2004 by TC]

Comment

OTG ???
      i use the overhead cast but i doubt i could class it as a thump lol more of a gentle bump my pal uses the pendulum cast ,if thats what its called ,but everyone has to back off if theres a few of us

as ive said earlier ive just started back up and on average i can say cast halfway across the river blyth ,not sure how far that is,and my rods not the best in the world,roll on xmas hehe

[Edited on 19/8/2004 by bribones]
      cheers Bri

anglingnortheast.com

Comment

Off The Ground

Comment

If you look at the results of the NWSA casting events in this section of the forums you will get a good idea of the distances that can be achieved.